PORTLANDIA

by gillianshenon

“Mississippi” is my favorite neighborhood in Portland, Oregon.  The Meadow (3731 North Mississippi Avenue, Portland OR 97227) is something to behold: every chocolate known to man, every sea salt you can dream of, and a splendid collection of bitters line the perimeter walls, topped off by a collection of unusual flowers at the center island.  Ha!  There’s also one in New York (523 Hudson Street).  But of course!

I just think that Portlanders do it differently – their sense of designing a space and inventiveness for product – they are ideas people and I value coming across such unique products and spaces given the volume of stores that I frequent.

Another great up-and-coming street nearby is Williams, and I encourage everyone to take a gander.

