DAVID SKINNER: LANDSCAPE ARTIST

by gillianshenon

Image

I paid a visit to David Skinner’s home studio in Venice Beach last spring where he lives in one of those enviable bungalows a block from the beach.  (Funny enough, same walk-street where my sister lived years ago.)  I am fortunate to have two of David’s landscapes in my home and was anxious to meet him and learn about his process.  As it turns out, David is a father of two, surfer, and generally very cool guy.  We learned we have friends in common from Homer, Alaska!

Image

David let me know that he’d be coming up to the Bay to showcase his paintings at the Sausalito Art Festival over Labor Day weekend. He explained that out of the 3,000 or more applicants, only 250 artists are selected.  David’s had a booth at the Sausalito Art Festival for eight years – impressive!

Image

I told him that it is my personal endeavor to collect another seven of his landscapes so I can install them as a series on my wall, to which David said, “get out!”  Yep, I am a true fan.

Image

Image

Image

Here is the link to see more of David’s work: http://www.dskinner.net/index.html.

